IT staffing rates in India: what 29 contract roles were budgeted in 2026
Between 18 September and 21 October 2026, staffing firms, IT services companies and intermediaries in India sent HookStep 29 contract IT roles with a stated monthly budget. This page lists every one, says what moved the number, and ends with what HookStep charges. It is a small sample from one supplier's inbox, not a market survey, and it names no company.
The short answer
- Contract roles: budgets ran from ₹70,000 a month (a D365 functional consultant with 2 to 3 years) to ₹2.3 lakh a month (the top of a range for Dynamics lead and architect roles with 9 to 15 years).
- Of the 23 roles with a single figure, the median was ₹1.3 lakh a month, and 10 of the 23 were exactly ₹1.3 lakh.
- Only 2 of those 23 were at ₹2 lakh a month or more: two agentic and GenAI lead roles asking for about 15 years.
- Permanent roles sent in the same weeks had annual budgets of ₹16 to 29 lakh. A placement fee is a one-time percentage of that annual CTC.
Where the numbers come from
Each figure is the budget the sender stated in the requirement: a monthly amount in rupees that the staffing firm or company would pay a supplier for one engineer on contract. It is not the engineer's salary, and where the sender wrote "+ GST" the supplier adds GST to the invoice on top. Role names are shortened, and six senior roles that came in one requirement share a row. Rupee amounts are in lakh: 1 lakh is ₹1,00,000.
The sample leans towards Oracle and Microsoft Dynamics (20 of the 29 roles), partly because 13 roles came in one broadcast from a staffing intermediary. Treat the figures as what was actually offered to a supplier in these weeks, not as an average for each skill.
What moved the number
- Seniority and a scarce platform. The two highest single figures, ₹2.2 lakh a month, were for agentic and GenAI leads with about 15 years; one of them had to know Azure AI Foundry. A senior AI engineer with 10 years, asked for Azure AI Foundry and AWS Bedrock, was budgeted at ₹1.4 lakh plus GST.
- Flat batch rates. Nine Oracle and Dynamics roles, from 3 to 12 years of experience, carried the same ₹1.3 lakh. Our reading: when a range that wide gets one figure, the rate was set once upstream for the whole batch, so there is little room to negotiate it role by role.
- Term. Where a requirement stated one, it was 6 months (extendable), 6 to 12 months, or a 1-year minimum.
- Working hours. Three roles asked for a late shift or US hours (2 pm to 11 pm IST, or US Eastern hours). They were not consistently budgeted higher: ₹1.3 lakh, ₹1.5 lakh and ₹85,000, each plus GST.
Permanent hires: budgets and fees
In the same weeks, the permanent roles we were sent had annual budgets of ₹17 to 29 lakh for SAP functional consultants and ₹16 to 23 lakh for data engineers working with PySpark and Databricks. One firm sent both kinds in October: ₹1.6 lakh a month for a contract data modeller, which is ₹19.2 lakh over a year, and ₹16 to 23 lakh a year for permanent data engineers.
A placement fee is a one-time percentage of the hire's annual CTC. At 6% on a ₹20 lakh CTC it is ₹1.2 lakh. Besides the percentage, agree in writing when it is payable (at joining, or after the hire has stayed a set number of days) and whether a replacement is owed if the person leaves early.
Whose payroll the engineer is on
- Corp-to-corp (C2C): the supplier keeps the engineer on its own payroll and invoices the staffing firm or client each month.
- The client's or staffing firm's payroll: the engineer joins their payroll for the contract, and the supplier is paid for finding them. One firm asked for this on its 1-year Salesforce and Oracle contracts.
- Which one applies changes what the monthly figure covers, so ask before comparing two quotes.
What HookStep charges
Permanent placement in India: 6% of the hire's annual CTC, invoiced only after the person joins. Nothing is charged before that.
Contract and contract-to-hire: we take roles budgeted at ₹2 lakh a month or more. The rate is agreed per role, against your brief. 21 of the 23 single-figure budgets above were below that line.
Every requirement we take gets profiles matched to it, with contact details masked until you shortlist, and nobody starts until you approve.
Contract IT roles and their monthly budgets, Sep to Oct 2026
| Role | Experience | Budget per month | Work mode | Received |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oracle Middleware administrator (ODI, OAS, WebLogic on OCI) | 3-6 years | ₹1.3 lakh | Remote | Sep 2026 |
| Oracle APEX developer (SQL, PL/SQL, EBS finance and procurement) | 5-8 years | ₹1.0 lakh | Remote | Sep 2026 |
| Oracle EPBCS/PBCS senior consultant (Hyperion Planning, Essbase) | 5-8 years | ₹1.5 lakh | Remote | Sep 2026 |
| Oracle Fusion security specialist (RBAC, SoD, OIC) | 5-8 years | ₹1.3 lakh + GST | 2 pm-11 pm IST | Sep 2026 |
| Oracle Fusion Middleware consultant | Not stated | ₹1.7 lakh | Remote, or hybrid in Bengaluru or Pune; 1-year minimum | Oct 2026 |
| D365 Finance and Operations technical (X++, Azure integrations) | 5-8 years | ₹1.3 lakh | IST hours | Sep 2026 |
| D365 Finance and Operations functional (SCM and finance) | 6-8 years | ₹1.3 lakh | Hybrid | Sep 2026 |
| D365 Finance and Operations finance functional | 8-10 years | ₹1.5 lakh | Hybrid | Sep 2026 |
| D365 Finance and Operations data migration consultant | 8-10 years | ₹1.3 lakh | Hybrid | Sep 2026 |
| D365 SCM functional consultant | 2-3 years | ₹70,000 | Noida | Sep 2026 |
| Dynamics 365 Business Central functional (finance) | 7-8 years | ₹1.3 lakh | Delhi NCR | Sep 2026 |
| D365 CE/CRM technical, with SSIS | 7+ years | ₹1.3 lakh | Hybrid, several Indian cities | Sep 2026 |
| D365 Project Operations functional | 10-12 years | ₹1.3 lakh | Hybrid, several Indian cities | Sep 2026 |
| D365 model-driven apps and Power Automate developer | 6-8 years | ₹1.3 lakh | Hybrid, several Indian cities | Sep 2026 |
| Six senior D365 CRM and Finance and Operations roles (technical lead, functional lead, test lead, finance functional consultant, solution architect, environment manager) | 9-15 years | ₹1.7-2.3 lakh for the six | Hybrid, several Indian cities; 6 months, extendable | Sep 2026 |
| Senior agentic and GenAI lead (Azure AI Foundry) | 15+ years | ₹2.2 lakh | On-site, Bengaluru | Sep 2026 |
| Senior AI technical lead (agentic and GenAI) | 15 years | ₹2.2 lakh + GST | Bengaluru | Sep 2026 |
| Senior AI engineer (AWS Bedrock, Azure AI Foundry, Python, multi-agent and RAG) | 10+ years | ₹1.4 lakh + GST | Hybrid; 6 months | Sep 2026 |
| Senior database engineer (SQL Server to Aurora PostgreSQL migration) | 8+ years | ₹1.3 lakh + GST | Not stated | Sep 2026 |
| Cloud infrastructure engineer (Terraform) | 10+ years | ₹1.5 lakh + GST | Remote, US Eastern shift | Sep 2026 |
| SAP S/4HANA QA test lead (FI) | 8-12 years | Up to ₹1.4 lakh | Contract-to-hire, 6 months; several Indian cities | Sep 2026 |
| Salesforce associate architect or tech lead | Not stated | ₹1.9 lakh | Remote, or hybrid in Bengaluru or Pune; 1-year minimum | Oct 2026 |
| Data modeller (Databricks, Microsoft Fabric) | 8+ years | ₹1.6 lakh, negotiable | On-site 5 days, Mumbai; 6-12 months | Oct 2026 |
| Full stack developer | 5 years | ₹85,000 + GST | Remote, 9 am-5 pm US Eastern | Oct 2026 |
29 roles (the row of six senior D365 roles counts six). Budgets as the sender stated them, per month, in rupees; "+ GST" means GST is added on top. 1 lakh = ₹1,00,000. From requirements sent to HookStep between 18 September and 21 October 2026.
Sources
HookStep's own records: the requirements staffing firms, IT services companies and intermediaries sent us between 18 September and 21 October 2026. Budgets, experience and terms are as the sender stated them; role names are shortened and senders are not named.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a contract IT engineer cost per month in India?
In the 23 single-figure budgets we received in September and October 2026, from ₹70,000 to ₹2.2 lakh a month, with a median of ₹1.3 lakh. Lead and architect roles with 9 to 15 years reached ₹2.3 lakh. In this sample the highest figures went to the most senior roles on a scarce platform, but nine roles from 3 to 12 years shared one flat ₹1.3 lakh.
How is a placement fee for a permanent hire worked out?
As a one-time percentage of the hire's annual CTC. HookStep charges 6%, invoiced only after the person joins: on a ₹20 lakh CTC that is ₹1.2 lakh, once.
Does a contract budget include GST?
Where a requirement said "+ GST", the supplier adds GST to the invoice on top of the monthly figure. Where it said nothing about GST, ask before comparing it with a quote.
Why are no companies named?
The requirements were sent to us as a possible supplier, not for publication. We show the roles, budgets, terms and month, and leave out who sent them and anything that would identify the end client.
Related
Hiring now? Tell us about the role, read how it works, or see the FAQ.